Tue. Nov 28th, 2023

The 87th Annual Academy Awards were held on Sunday, February 22, 2015 at the Dolby Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center in Hollywood. The Oscars were televised live by the ABC Television Network in more than 225 countries and territories worldwide.

Best Picture

American Sniper (Warner Bros. Pictures) Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) (Fox Searchlight Pictures) **Winner** Boyhood (IFC Films) The Grand Budapest Hotel (Fox Searchlight Pictures) The Imitation Game (The Weinstein Company) Selma (Paramount Pictures) The Theory of Everything (Focus Features)

Whiplash (Sony Pictures Classics)


Alejandro G. Iñárritu – Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) **Winner** Richard Linklater – Boyhood Bennett Miller – Foxcatcher Wes Anderson – The Grand Budapest Hotel

Morten Tyldum – The Imitation Game

Actor in a Leading Role

Steve Carell – Foxcatcher Bradley Cooper – American Sniper Benedict Cumberbatch – The Imitation Game Michael Keaton – Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

Eddie Redmayne – The Theory of Everything **Winner**

Actress in a Leading Role

Marion Cotillard – Two Days, One Night Felicity Jones – The Theory of Everything Julianne Moore – Still Alice **Winner** Rosamund Pike – Gone Girl

Reese Witherspoon – Wild

Actor in a Supporting Role

Robert Duvall – The Judge Ethan Hawke – Boyhood Edward Norton – Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) Mark Ruffalo – Foxcatcher

J.K. Simmons – Whiplash **Winner**

Actress in a Supporting Role

Patricia Arquette – Boyhood **Winner** Laura Dern – Wild Keira Knightley – The Imitation Game Emma Stone – Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

Meryl Streep – Into the Woods

Writing (Adapted Screenplay)

American Sniper, Written by Jason Hall The Imitation Game, Written by Graham Moore **Winner** Inherent Vice, Written by Paul Thomas Anderson The Theory of Everything, Written by Anthony McCarten

Whiplash, Written by Damien Chazelle

Writing (Original Screenplay)

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), Written by Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Alexander Dinelaris, Nicolas Giacobone, Armando Bo **Winner** Boyhood, Written by Richard Linklater Foxcatcher, Written by Dan Futterman and E. Max Frye The Grand Budapest Hotel, Written by Wes Anderson

Nightcrawler, Written by Dan Gilroy

Foreign Language Film

Ida (Music Box Films), Poland, Pawel Pawlikowski **Winner** Leviathan (Sony Pictures Classics), Russia, Andrey Zvyagintsev Tangerines, Estonia, Zaza Urushadze Timbuktu (Cohen Media Group), Mauritania, Abderrahmane Sissako

Wild Tales (Sony Pictures Classics), Argentina, Damián Szifrón

Animated Feature Film

Big Hero 6 (Walt Disney Pictures) **Winner** The Boxtrolls (Focus Features) How to Train a Dragon 2 (DreamWorks Animation) Song of the Sea (GKIDS)

The Tale of the Princess Kaguya (GKIDS)

Production Design

The Grand Budapest Hotel – Production Design: Adam Stockhausen; Set Decoration: Anna Pinnock **Winner** The Imitation Game – Production Design: Maria Djurkovic; Set Decoration: Tatiana Macdonald Interstellar – Production Design: Nathan Crowley; Set Decoration: Gary Fettis Into the Woods – Production Design: Dennis Gassner; Set Decoration: Anna Pinnock

Mr. Turner – Production Design: Suzie Davies; Set Decoration: Charlotte Watts


Emmanuel Lubezki – Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) **Winner** Robert Yeoman – The Grand Budapest Hotel Lukasz Zal and Ryszard Lenczewski – Ida Dick Pope – Mr. Turner

Roger Deakins – Unbroken

Costume Design

Milena Canonero – The Grand Budapest Hotel **Winner** Mark Bridges – Inherent Vice Colleen Atwood – Into the Woods Anna B. Sheppard and Jane Clive – Maleficent

Jacqueline Durran – Mr. Turner

Film Editing

Joel Cox and Gary D. Roach – American Sniper Sandra Adair – Boyhood Barney Pilling – The Grand Budapest Hotel William Goldenberg – The Imitation Game

Tom Cross – Whiplash **Winner**

Documentary (Feature)

Citizenfour (RADiUS-TWC) **Winner** Finding Vivian Maier (Sundance Selects) Last Days in Vietnam (American Experience) The Salt of the Earth (Sony Pictures Classics)

Virunga (Netflix)

Makeup and Hairstyling

Bill Corso and Dennis Liddiard – Foxcatcher Frances Hannon and Mark Coulier – The Grand Budapest Hotel **Winner**

Elizabeth Yianni-Georgiou and David White – Guardians of the Galaxy

Music (Original Score)

Alexandre Desplat – The Grand Budapest Hotel **Winner** Alexandre Desplat – The Imitation Game Hans Zimmer – Interstellar Gary Yershon – Mr. Turner

Jóhann Jóhannsson – The Theory of Everything

Music (Original Song)

“Everything Is Awesome” from The LEGO Movie Music and Lyric by Shawn Patterson “Glory” from Selma **Winner** Music and Lyric by John Stephens and Lonnie Lynn “Grateful” from Beyond the Lights Music and Lyric by Diane Warren “I’m Not Gonna Miss You” from Glen Campbell…I’ll Be Me Music and Lyric by Glen Campbell and Julian Raymond “Lost Stars” from Begin Again

Music and Lyric by Gregg Alexander and Danielle Brisebois

Sound Mixing

John Reitz, Gregg Rudloff and Walt Martin – American Sniper Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño and Thomas Varga – Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) Gary A. Rizzo, Gregg Landaker and Mark Weingarten – Interstellar Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño and David Lee – Unbroken

Craig Mann, Ben Wilkins and Thomas Curley – Whiplash **Winner**

Sound Editing

Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman – American Sniper **Winner** Martín Hernández and Aaron Glascock – Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) Brent Burge and Jason Canovas – The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies Richard King – Interstellar

Becky Sullivan and Andrew DeCristofaro – Unbroken

Visual Effects

Dan DeLeeuw, Russell Earl, Bryan Grill and Dan Sudick – Captain America: The Winter Soldier Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, Daniel Barrett and Erik Winquist – Dawn of the Planet of the Apes Stephane Ceretti, Nicolas Aithadi, Jonathan Fawkner and Paul Corbould – Guardians of the Galaxy Paul Franklin, Andrew Lockley, Ian Hunter and Scott Fisher – Interstellar **Winner**

Richard Stammers, Lou Pecora, Tim Crosbie and Cameron Waldbauer – X-Men: Days of Future Past

Documentary (Short Subject)

Crisis Hotline: Veterans Press 1 – Ellen Goosenberg Kent and Dana Perry **Winner** Joanna – Aneta Kopacz Our Curse – Tomasz Sliwinski and Maciej Slesicki The Reaper (La Parka) – Gabriel Serra Arguello

White Earth – J. Christian Jensen

Short Film (Animated)

The Bigger Picture – Daisy Jacobs and Christopher Hees The Dam Keeper – Robert Kondo and Dice Tsutsumi Feast – Patrick Osborne and Kristina Reed **Winner** Me and My Moulton – Torill Kove

A Single Life – Joris Oprins

Short Film (Live Action)

Aya – Oded Binnun and Mihal Brezis Boogaloo and Graham – Michael Lennox and Ronan Blaney Butter Lamp (La Lampe Au Beurre De Yak) – Hu Wei and Julien Féret Parvaneh – Talkhon Hamzavi and Stefan Eichenberger

The Phone Call – Mat Kirkby and James Lucas **Winner**